- THINGS TO DO
- Stokes Brown Public Library
Stokes Brown Public Library
Stokes Brown Public Library furnishes materials and services that help people of all ages in the community to continue their education independently, arouse curiosity for further study and help with scholastic studies. The library strives to provide patrons with current materials of various kinds and promotes active use of the library facilities by all patrons.
The citizens of Springfield and Robertson County will have the information and materials necessary for independent and personal growth.
Location & Hours
The Stokes Brown Public Library is situated within Springfield's Historic Preservation District at 405 White Street.
The library's hours of operation are:
- Monday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday
9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
- Tuesday and Thursday
9 a.m. - 8 p.m.
2:30 - 5 p.m.
A free library for Springfield and Robertson County was established in 1923 by the Springfield Short Story Club and was 1st housed at the Glenn Memorial building from 1946 until the Stokes Brown Public Library opened its doors in 1969.
The library is staffed by 5 full-time employees, including the Director and the Children's Librarian, and 9 part-time employees.
Getting a Card
Use of the Stokes Brown Public Library is not limited to residents of Robertson County. Residents of surrounding counties in Tennessee and Kentucky are patrons of the library.
In order to check-out items you must 1st obtain a library card. In making an application for a library card, it will be necessary for you to present a document with your current mailing address on it such as a driver's license, check book, telephone bill or utility bill. You will also be required to submit the name, address and telephone number of a contact person. The contact person must be someone who does not reside in your household.
Books, magazines and audio materials are checked out for 2 weeks and the overdue fine is $0.10 a day per item.
Video materials are checked out for 1 week and the overdue fine is $1 a day per item.
Patrons who owe more than $5 in fines or have items overdue more than 30 days are not allowed to check out items or use computers until their debts have been cleared.
Memorial Gifts & Donations
The library accepts memorial and honor gifts. In order to place a book or make a donation to the library, please call 615-384-5123. The library prefers to purchase the books placed in the library in order to fit the book to the person. The library also has a building fund to which donations may be made in honor or memory of persons. The family of the person honored by any memorial or gift is always notified by the library staff.